||Our goal is to offer
| Downloads |
• Client plug-in
• Server plug-in
• Plug-in Listing
||1 of 5
The following two plug-ins allow VPT to work in a network and
share project data among several workstations. These plug-ins help
transfer project data from a workstation to a server and combine
projects from different users.
The network support implemented by these plug-ins is quite
simple and hence easy-to-use. An outline of the functionality is the
- A network may
have one or more computers that are able to access a shared
folder on one of the computers.
- A regular copy of VPT is installed on each workstation along
with the network client plug-in (VPT Client).
- Each client copy of VPT is used in much the same way as it is
for personal use. However the client plug-ins allow to retrieve
and store project data from/to the server by copying project
files over the network.
- One copy of VPT (dedicated or a regular workstation) is used
to manage project data for the whole workgroup. The Network
Server plug-in is installed in this copy of VPT (VPT Server).
- All project files for all users are stored in a shared folder
on a File Server. This could be any computer on the
network, even one of the workstations provided the folder is
accessible to all VPT clients and the VPT server.
The workflow of the whole workgroup can be described as this:
- Before starting a new project, VPT administrator (the user
of VPT server) creates an empty project that defines the
applications to track in the project, hourly rates, custom
activity categories, etc. This empty project will be used as project
template for all workstations working on the same project.
- A user before starting to work on a project, uses client
plug-in's Get Project From Server command that allows
him to pick the project template.
- The template (empty) project is transferred to the user
machine and the client VPT can be used as usual. It is
possible to open several different "network"
projects at a time as with local project.
- It is still possible to work on local projects, i.e.
those projects that are not considered part of the workgroup's
task. Just use VPT's "New Project" command to create
a new project as usual. A local project cannot be saved to the
server for processing, though.
- When the work on the project is finished or when it is
necessary update team progress, project data can be
transferred to the server for processing. Client VPT command Send
Project to Server will move the project file to the
server. The local copy of the project is either deleted or the
data in it is purged so there's no double time tracking.
- The project file is moved to a special user folder on the
File Server where all intermediate project data are collected
for each user separately.
- It is possible to continue working on the same project by
getting a new "fresh" template for the same project.
Newly collected data will be moved to the same user folder on
the file server afterwards and stored with other
"fragments" of the same project.
- The VPT server (VPT with the server plug-in) is used to
combine pieces of the same project for each user and then
combine different user projects together to create collective
database for each project for the whole workgroup. Combined
project data is stored in separate folders on the file server
(each user's combined projects are stored in separate
- After the project data was combined, it is possible to load
all the projects of any user or the combined projects of the
workgroup into the server VPT for creating reports or viewing
Proceed to the next page for more details on configuring and
using the plug-ins.
|1 of 5
© Copyright 1998-2003 by VAKCER